Study of a townscape using line

20130527-195337.jpg

This is on A3 with ink and dip pen. I attempted to draw a car and impression of others behind it from the whole line of cars on both sides of the street. There are always traffic wardens passing so I included one and a parking ‘pay and display’ machine. I had to make corrections with the car. It was very tricky to draw. The initial one was very small. I like this street as it has a mix of old and new.
The building in the foreground has thicker darker lines.
In my last report, my tutor asked me to look at paintings by Vincent Van Gogh and John Virtue. I had seen some of Vincent’s work, and John Virtue is new to me. I spent a lot of time looking at their work, including watching a video of John Virtue painting the London skyline made by the National Gallery. His work is only in monochrome, using mostly acrylics and ink. I found his work interesting as the black and white leaves you to use your imagination more. He does not put any detail, but you can make out the location. He does not paint the London Eye as he does not like it.

I like Vincent’s townscape below. He has managed to include a five story building in the foreground.
I have a problem drawing vertical lines, the always go at an angle, despite practise on plain paper.

20130527-201025.jpg

Leave a comment